



Student Government Association (SGA) General Board Meeting

Date: Fenuary 20, 2025 **Time:** 12:30 PM - 2:00 PM **Location:** Room A506

Presiding Officer: Twaambo Kabosha

1. Call to Order

• The meeting was called to order at 12:33 PM by the president.

2. Roll Call

- Present:
 - 1. Twaambo Kabosha
 - 2. Nayely Chimborazo
 - 3. Theodat Pierre
 - 4. Anchita Fnu
 - 5. Tehreem Nadeem
 - 6. Wei Chong
 - 7. Ousmane Diallo
 - 8. Abbi Raper
 - 9. Kaylynn Daoud
 - 10. Sandra roper (New Member)
 - 11. Amy Bermo (New Member)
 - 12. Maureen Okyere (New Member)
 - 13. Mohammad Sohail (New Member)
 - 14. Amna Sahar (New Member)
 - 15. Nazia Mahmud (New Member)
 - 16. Daler Djuraev (New Member)
 - 17. Grace Aikhoje (New Member)
- Absent:
 - 1. Maria Hashmi
 - 2. Dildora Khurramova (New Member)
- 3. Approval of Agenda Agenda Approved
- 4. Voting in New Student Members for vacant Positions and Committees.
 - Part-Time Senator position.
 - → Nominee: Abbi Raper
 - → Vote: Passed with 8 votes in favor by Old SGA members.
 - Appointing Senator of Art and Science
 - → Nominee: Dildora Khurramova, Sandra roper, Grace Aikhoje → Vote: Passed with 8 votes in favor by Old members.
 - Appointing Senator of professional studies
 - → Nominee: Amy Bermo, Maureen Okyere
 - → Vote: Passed with 8 votes in favor by Old members.
 - Appointing Senator of Tech & Design
 - → Nominee: Mohammad Sohail, Amna Sahar
 - → Vote: Passed with 8 votes in favor by Old members.

Appointing Senator of accessibility

→ Nominee: Nazia Mahmud

→ Vote: Passed with 8 votes in favor by Old members.

• Appointing Senator of evening students

→ Nominee: Daler Djuraev

→ Vote: Passed with 8 votes in favor by Old members.

• Appointing College association board and Auxiliary Enterprise Board

- → Nominee: Alyssa defoe and Tehreem Nadeem
- → Vote: Passed with 8 votes in favor.

Appointing College council school of art and science

→ Nominee: Dildora Khurramova, Sandra roper, Grace Aikhoje → Vote: Passed with 8 votes in favor.

• Appointing College council school of professional studies

- → Nominee: Amy Bermo, Maureen Okyere
- → Vote: Passed with 8 votes in favor.

• Appointing College council school of tech and design

- → Nominee: Mohammad Sohail, Amna Sahar
- → Vote: Passed with 8 votes in favor by Old members.

Appointing Budget committee members

- → Previous Members: Ousmane Diallo (CHAIR), Twaambo kabosha (president), Tehreem Nadeem (vice president), Nayely Chimborazo, Pierre Theodat, Maria Hashm
- → Recent Joined New Member: Grace Aikhoje

• Appointing Event committee members

- → Previous Members: Nayely Chimborazo(chair), Twaambo kabosha (president), Wei Chong, Ousmane Diallo (non-voting), Abbi raper, Kaylynn Daoud
- → Recent Joined New Member: Naziya Mahmud, Dildora Khurramova, Amna Sahar

• Appointing Club committee members

- → Previous Members: Pierre Theodat, Twaambo kabosha (president) non-voting, Ousmane Diallo, Abbi raper
- → Recent Joined New Member: Maureen Okyere, Amy bermo

• Appointing External affairs committee

- → Previous Members: Wei Chong (chair), Twaambo kabosha (president) non-voting
- → Recent Joined New Member: Mohammad Sohai, Amna Sahar, Sandra roper

PLEASE NOTE: At this point all new members are voting members of the board and partake in the voting process.

All new Members are to get with Twaambo for training.

5. Voting for certification of New Student Clubs

• SSA Club

→ Vote: 16→ In favor: 11→ Abstain: 5

→ Outcome: Motion passes; SSA Club certified

→ Kindly note that The Club president or Vice-president didn't show up in the meeting to present their club.

• Physics Club

→ Vote: 16→ In favor: 16→ Abstain: 0

→ Outcome: Motion passed; Physics Club certified

GDG Club

→ Vote: 16→ In favor: 15→ Abstain: 1

→ Outcome: Motion passed; GDG club certified

→ Kindly note that The Club president or Vice-president didn't show up in the meeting to present their club.

• NOMAS Club

→ Vote: 16→ In favor: 13→ Abstain: 3

→ Outcome: Motioned Passed; NOMAS club.

→ Kindly note that The Club president or Vice-president didn't show up in the meeting to present their club.

Veterans Club

→ Votes = 16
 → In favor: 16
 → Abstain: 0

→ Outcome: Motion passed; Veterans club certified

6. Budget proposal Approvals

A. Data Science Club

Approved:

Weekly Workshops (Total of 5) - \$650

Neetcode Premium (Learning platform for Software Engineering interview prep, 1-year access) – **\$120**

Votes = 16Voted In favor: 15

➤ Abstain: 1

Rejectet:

➤ Welcome Board Purchase (ASAP) - \$200

➤ Caltech Hackathon (Competition travel) – \$6,500

➤ End-of-the-Year Officer Recognition - \$1,700

Votes = 16
 In favor: 5
 Abstain:5
 Oppose: 6

Postponed:

➤ MLH Hackcon - \$2800

B. Muslim Students Association (MSA)

- → Approved \$2,000 for an event in collaboration with multiple clubs.
- → Votes = 16
 → In favour: 15
 → Abstain: 1
- C. The INK Club
 - → Approved \$489.95 for purchasing items for workshops this semester.
 - → Votes = 16 → In Favour: 15
 - → Abstain: 1
- D. Jewish Student Club

- → Approved \$1,856.84 for weekly gatherings.
- → Votes = 16
 → In Favour: 15
 → Abstain: 1
- E. Al and Automation Club
 - → Approved \$3,344.73 for projects across three sub-clubs under this organization.
 - → Votes = 16
 → In Favour: 15
 → Abstain: 1
- F. AIAS (American Institute of Architecture Students)
 - → Approved \$479.05 for an academic trip.
 - → Votes = 16
 → In Favour: 15
 → Abstain: 1

7. Student Government Updates

- 25-26 SGA Election Info was distributed to the new SGA members.
- Events:
 - → Ramadan iftar event happening from 3/3/2025 3/27/2025
 - → Women's History Month Celebration event happening on 3/6/2025
 - → Talent Show got Canceled
 - → Proposal of Spirit Week is still under way (date: tbd)
 - → Proposal of End of the Year Gala is yet to be discussed (date: tbd)
- Student Organizations:
 - → March Club officer meeting happening on 3/4/2025
- Important Dates and Deadlines
 - → Budget Request Deadline is till 3/31/2025
 - → Proposal of End of the Year Gala event and Spirit Week event deadline is till end of February.

8. New Business

- Nominations for the Faculty Student Disciplinary Committee.
- Nominees: Daler Djuraev, Mohammad Sohail, Amna Sahar.
- Votes = 16In favour: 16
- Abstain: 0
- Final **Student Disciplinary Committee members**: Dildora Khurramova, Mohammad Sohail, Amna Sahar.

9. Open Discussion

• Concern has been raised regarding whether clubs, whose President or Vice President failed to attend the meeting, should be approved or not.

10. Adjournment

- Motion to adjourn passed.
- Meeting ended at 2.00 PM.

Kindly note that Maureen Okyere, along with Amna Sahar and Grace Aikhoje, arrived late but were present for the majority of the meeting.

Prepared by: Fnu Anchita Date of Preparation: 02-24-2025.