Skip Navigation

New York City College of Technology

You Are Here: HomeAbout UsNews & EventsPicture This → Story

Picture This

Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation Mentor Appreciation Luncheon

Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation Mentor Appreciation Luncheon

Pictured here are Professor Aparicio Carranza, chair of the Department of Computer Engineering Technology at New York City College of Technology; students George Perez, Carla Araile, alumni Kashif Hoyte, Jodi-Ann Young, and Lori Younge; Minerva Francis, City Tech LSAMP activity coordinator; City Tech Professors Xiaohai Li, Benito Mendoza, Jose Reyes Alamo; and Selwyn Williams, director of undergraduate research at the College. The photo was taken on campus at the March 15, 2012, Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) Mentor Appreciation Luncheon. The event recognized the contributions of former and current LSAMP mentors and scholars and also celebrated the 20th year of LSAMP activities across CUNY.

The NYC Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation is an alliance of 17 CUNY colleges and the CUNY Graduate Center. Its goal is to substantially increase the number of underrepresented minority students who pursue and graduate with baccalaureate degrees in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM). From its inception in November 1992, the Alliance has been at the forefront of a concerted effort to increase annual minority STEM enrollment and graduation in the City University of New York. The Alliance provides academic scholarship support to CUNY students majoring in the STEM disciplines, making research an integral part of STEM education in New York City.

City Tech faculty and staff members present at event but not pictured were Professors Tony Nicolas, Huseyin Yuce, Malek Brahimi, Marcos Pinto, Masato Nakamura, Viviana Vladutescu, Edward Morton, Nona Smith (Access For Women), Iem Heng, Ekoe Clark, Sunghoon Jang, Urmi Ghosh-Dastidar and Andy Zhang; students Antonio Aguirre, Olivia Reed, Edwin Olaya, Agossa Segla, Harrison Carranza, Tina Norris, and Yapah Berry; Dr. Neville Parker, NYC-LSAMP project director; City Tech President Russell K. Hotzler; School of Technology & Design Dean Kevin Hom Dr. Olliver Davis, director of scholarships and residency services; Dr. Cinda Scott, I-Cubed project; and Professor Reginald Blake, LSAMP steering committee member.


Back to Picture This Index →

City Tech Is CUNY