Skip Navigation

New York City College of Technology

You Are Here: HomeAbout UsNews & Events Archive 2012 - 2013 News → Story

News & Events

Officers Elected at City Tech Alumni Association's 2012 Annual Meeting in October

City Tech Alumni Association board of directors

David F. Barthold, who earned an AAS in restorative dentistry at City Tech in 2006 and currently serves as the Department of Restorative Dentistry's chief CLT, was elected the new president of the College’s Alumni Association at its annual meeting on October 17, 2012. He replaces Yvonne Riley-Tepie ‘92, who stepped down after heading the association for several terms. A member of the association’s board of directors, he served on its Website Development Committee. Barthold is a working artist, 1981 studio art program graduate of Oberlin College, and ran a small ceramic design and manufacturing business in Brooklyn for 15 years. He participated in a borough-wide "Go Brooklyn" studio tour in September 2012 and a Gowanus Open Studio event a month later, and has served for three years as executive vice president of the American Scandinavian Society.

City Tech Alumni Association board member, telecommunications technology program graduate and former valedictorian Sonya Warren ’96, who most recently served as an office assistant with FEGS and prior to that as a computer graphics/data entry professional with Ocular Media Corp as well as a police communications technician with the NYPD, was elected vice president. Hospitality management program graduate Debra Alago ’95, executive chef and director of food services with Professional Children’s School in Manhattan who has mentored individuals of all ages who aspire to be part of the food service/hospitality industry, was elected board secretary. Reelected to the position of association treasurer was Gerald E. Singh, a 1985 graduate of the College’s accounting program who went on to earn an MBA and to become a Certified Public Accountant. Singh is currently an assistant professor with the College’s Department of Business, supervises the City Tech Tax Clinic and serves as faculty advisor to the Accounting Society.

The Annual Meeting featured “State of the College” remarks by City Tech President Russell K. Hotzler, a special tribute to outgoing association president Yvonne Riley-Tepie, and presentation of the Ruth Eldridge Scholarship Award to 2012 Law & Paralegal Studies graduate and former Student Government Association President Terel Watson. The event was chaired by Director of Alumni Relations Jessica Malavez and catered by restaurateur and professional caterer Irene Henderson.


City Tech Is CUNY